Identification, Images, & Information
For Insects, Spiders & Their Kin
For the United States & Canada
Clickable Guide
Moths Butterflies Flies Caterpillars Flies Dragonflies Flies Mantids Cockroaches Bees and Wasps Walkingsticks Earwigs Ants Termites Hoppers and Kin Hoppers and Kin Beetles True Bugs Fleas Grasshoppers and Kin Ticks Spiders Scorpions Centipedes Millipedes

Upcoming Events

See Moth submissions from National Moth Week 2023

Photos of insects and people from the 2022 BugGuide gathering in New Mexico, July 20-24

Photos of insects and people from the Spring 2021 gathering in Louisiana, April 28-May 2

Photos of insects and people from the 2019 gathering in Louisiana, July 25-27

Photos of insects and people from the 2018 gathering in Virginia, July 27-29

Photos of insects and people from the 2015 gathering in Wisconsin, July 10-12

Previous events


Parasitengona - velvet mites (including chiggers) & water mites

Mite - Balaustium Spider mite? - Leptus Mite 2 green mite - Balaustium mite - Trombidium interstitial mite - Stygothrombium Red mite - Abrolophus Unknown Bug - Trombidium
Kingdom Animalia (Animals)
Phylum Arthropoda (Arthropods)
Subphylum Chelicerata (Chelicerates)
Class Arachnida (Arachnids)
Subclass Acari (Mites and Ticks)
Superorder Acariformes
Order Trombidiformes
Suborder Prostigmata (Prostigs)
Infraorder Anystina
No Taxon Parasitengona - velvet mites (including chiggers) & water mites
Other Common Names
16 superfamilies: 8 terrestrial and 8 aquatic.
Generally, larvae are ectoparasitic on arthropods, but certain groups feed on vertebrates (e.g., chiggers) and others are free-living. Post-larval stages (nymph and adult) are generally predators on other arthropods (esp. immobile stages such as eggs/pupae), but certain groups have evolved to subsist on other food sources (e.g., pollenivory in Balaustium).
Life Cycle
Complete life cycle consisting of egg, prelarva, larva, nymphal stages (proto-, deuto-, and tritonymph), and adult.

Active stages include the parasitic larvae and free-living deutonymph and adult.

Inactive stages (calyptostases) include egg, prelarva, protonymph (nymphochrysalis), and tritonymph (imagochrysalis).
The red mites attached to arthropod hosts are almost always larvae belonging to this group. The ancestral life cycle of the parasitengones is to have a parasitic larva; regressive, inactive protonymph; active predatory deutonymph; regressive tritonymph; and active predatory adult. - Barry O'Connor